Header Ads

Header ADS

Delain - 'Dark Waters' (album preview)

Delain - 'Dark Waters' (album)
Αρκετές αλλαγές τον περασμένο χρόνο στους Delain. Η Diana Leah ανέλαβε τα φωνητικά, ο Ludovico Cioffi έχει αναλάβει το μπάσο και τα (brutal) ανδρικά φωνητικά. Αυτοί ήρθαν πέρυσι, μέσα στο 2022. Πρόπερσι (2021) επέστρεψαν στην Ολλανδική μπάντα ο κιθαρίστας Ronald Landa (ήταν μέχρι και το 2009) και ο drummer Sander Zoer (ήταν μέχρι το 2014).

Το νέο line-up μας οδηγεί σε νέο δίσκο, ο οποίος φέρει τον τίτλο "Dark Waters" και έχει προγραμματισθεί να κυκλοφορήσει στα μέσα του επόμενου μήνα. Οι Delain δημιουργήθηκαν πριν από 21 έτη, το 2002. Η αποχώρηση του Martijn Westerholt από τους Within Temptation (λόγω ασθένειας, λίγο μετά την κυκλοφορία του δίσκου "Mother Earth") ήταν η αιτία της δημιουργίας τους. Συνεχίζουν μέχρι τις ημέρες μας έχοντας κυκλοφορήσει έξι "ολοκληρωμένους" δίσκους, 16 singles, τρία EPs και ένα demo...

Δελτίο τύπου: «Dutch symphonic metal pioneers Delain break into new realms with their eagerly awaited, brand new full-length, Dark Waters, out February 10, 2023 via Napalm Records.

The pristine record marks a game-changing chapter in the band's history and presents the brainchild of keyboardist, founder and main songwriter Martijn Westerholt with a new lineup.

Rejoining the fold and bolstering Delain’s continuity are original guitarist Ronald Landa and original drummer Sander Zoer, while new members - terrific vocalist Diana Leah and bassist Ludovico Cioffi - continue to evolve their sound.

Dark Waters follows the chart-breaking Apocalypse & Chill (2020), integrating the most refined sounds in the genre. Delain’s renowned orchestral arrangements, highlighted by modern shadings, set new standards and manifest the five-piece on top of the scene.

A sonic rollercoaster ride of catchy tunes with explosive elements - ranging from pop to film score-inspired to blistering metal - merge perfectly with Diana’s fantastic voice, showcasing her incredible talent and musical sophistication.

Songs like the soaring previously released standalone single, “The Quest and the Curse”, as well as “The Cold” (the latter featuring a real, epic choir), lure with a bombastic sound that skillfully combines orchestral melodies, epic heavy riffs and marvelous vocal performances.

Delain magnificently manages to never lose touch of their characteristic sound, making them a constant without ever standing still.

Pop-induced opening track “Hideaway Paradise” shows exactly that by inducing a dream - like feeling flirting with melodic metal guitars, while the ballad-like dark track “Mirror of Night”, featuring Within Temptation guitarist Ruud Jolie, entices the listener with unfathomably catchy lines and melodies.

“Queen of Shadow” merges the orchestral and synth-focused soundscapes Delain is known for as it weaves melodic heavy guitars that intertwine with orchestral lines and vocal melodies. The vocal department holds new adventures with guest singer Paolo Ribaldini, who also highlights the hauntingly beautiful “Beneath” as the ultimate hymn.

Hovering close to the original Delain sound, it combines synth themes and metal riffs to create an incredible fusion between pop and heavy soundscapes, topped off with a brain-spinning guitar solo. “Tainted Hearts” is centered around Westerholt's keyboard arrangements, which skillfully showcase the creative roots of the mastermind.

“Invictus” is nothing less than the Magnum Opus of the album - a rock opera in its own right with heavy riffing, choirs and vocal parts performed by Diana Leah, Paolo Ribaldini and Marko Hietala (ex-Nightwish), ending in a bombastic climax where everything comes together.

Emerging as a brand new start and safe haven alike, Dark Waters, without any doubt, continues the legacy of this multi - million - streamed leading symphonic metal outfit and contains everything Delain is loved for and more.»

Band: Delain
Country of origin: Netherlands
Location: Zwolle, Overijssel
Formed in: 2002
Genre: Symphonic Metal
Lyrical themes: Pain, Sorrow, Yearning, Love
Years active: 2002-present

Album: "Dark Waters"
Type: Full length
Release date: February 10th, 2023
Label: Napalm Records
Format: CD, Digital, 2CD, 2 vinyls, 3CD

Track listing:
01. Hideaway Paradise 05:18
02. The Quest and the Curse 04:56
03. Beneath 04:59
04. Mirror of Night 04:37
05. Tainted Hearts 04:41
06. The Cold 04:37
07. Moth to a Flame 04:07
08. Queen of Shadow 04:02
09. Invictus 05:30
10. Underland 05:13
11. The Quest and the Curse (piano version) 03:26

Band members:
Martijn Westerholt - Keyboards, Orchestrations, Vocals (backing)
Sander Zoer - Drums
Ronald Landa - Guitars, Vocals (backing)
Ludovico Cioffi - Vocals (growls, backing)
Diana Leah - Vocals (lead)

Paolo Ribaldini - Vocals (tracks 3, 7, 9)
Marco Hietala - Vocals (track 9)
Rob van der Loo - Bass
Ruud Jolie - Guitars (track 4)

Δεν υπάρχουν σχόλια

Από το Blogger.