Header Ads

Header ADS

Brainstorm - "Turn Off The Light" (Ft. Seeb Levermann)

You lost your mind, your common sense, obtain your ignorance,
a second of your time and we’ll come closer to the end;
twisting together a crown of thorns,
building strength from what’s inside, prevent your suicide

Inside the vault, you're down the drain,
got nothing left to fear
Inside the walls there's no despair,
But when we're gone, you're locked inside...
I’ll turn off the light

Stacking up the walls that hide your feelings from within,
I hope that when we find the key you know where to begin,
connecting together the sound of horns
now see the grin behind my face, like a serpent of disgrace

I know how sorrow creeps when there’s temptation all around,
how can I see it all again, we're on a journey to the end...

Ο δίσκος των Brainstorm "Escape"
Δισκογραφική επιστροφή μετά από μία τριετία για τους Brainstorm. Ο διάδοχος του album "Midnight Ghost" και 13ος συνολικά full length δίσκος των Γερμανών metallers τιτλοφορείται "Wall of Skulls" κι αναμένεται να κυκλοφορήσει σε λίγες ημέρες...

Δελτίο τύπου: «If two big names like Seeb Levermann (Orden Ogan) and the guys from Brainstorm get together, only something great can come out in the end. The song "Turn Off The Light" is brute, hard and fast. Exactly what you have to expect from Power Metal and even far beyond!

Listening to the latest Brainstorm album ‘Wall Of Skulls’, you immediately realise how much the band surrounding vocalist Andy B. Franck has benefitted from the group’s impressive predecessor offering, ‘Midnight Ghost’ (2018).

‘Midnight Ghost’ was a musical turning point for the power metal act from southern Germany which saw the band members reach an even higher level of quality and broaden their artistic horizon even further. “When we released the recording, we immediately felt that we were holding probably the most important album in Brainstorm’s history in our hands,” explains Franck.

Sales figures as well as audience reactions during the subsequent tour confirmed that impression. Our fans celebrated the new material as enthusiastically as they did our classics.” And that’s precisely the point where ‘Wall Of Skulls’ picks up, taking Brainstorm’s musical concept even further.

Franck talks of an “almost uncanny energy at the rehearsal room when we wrote the material. We’ve included more powerful and fast-paced numbers than ever before on this album. All that happened totally unintentionally and without a masterplan but in a completely natural way. We simply worked on the songs without compromises and never changed course once we’d embarked on a specific direction. So ‘Walls Of Skulls’ is definitely not ‘Midnight Ghost 2.0’, but another and very obvious step in the evolution of our music.

A development, coincidentally, which has in a way even benefitted from the crisis for the cultural sector during 2020, which was marked by countless uncertainties and public lockdowns.

It may sound paradoxical, but the Covid-related tour cancellations and postponed tour dates gave me time during the production of ‘Wall Of Skulls’ to put things on hold that I wasn’t one hundred per cent happy with and start all over again. In May 2020 I started feeling like I was running in circles artistically, so I deleted lots of vocal cuts and started all over again six weeks later. As far as I was concerned it was important not to rush these songs but to get the optimum out of our creative power.

And that’s exactly what these ten tracks (plus Intro) do. ‘Wall Of Skulls’ sees Brainstorm pull out all the stops, guitarists Torsten Ihlenfeld and Milan Loncaric stringing together one strong guitar riff after the other, giving the rhythm section consisting of bassist Antonio Ieva and drummer Dieter Bernert free rein and allowing them to lay down the red carpet for some awesome melodies and anthemnic chorus parts.

‘Wall Of Skulls’ is scheduled for release on 17 September 2021, with another cover courtesy of Hungarian artist Gyula Havancsak (Accept, Stratovarius) featuring an amazing design which is the perfect companion to one of the strongest Brainstorm albums to date. Andy B. Franck is happy to confirm this positive impression: “I’ve never felt more comfortable in my role with Brainstorm!”»

Band: Brainstorm
Country of origin: Germany
Location: Heidenheim, Baden-Württemberg
Formed in: 1989
Genre: Power Metal
Lyrical themes: Dark themes, Mind/Spirit, Death, Power
Years active: ? (as Memorialbrain), 1989-present

Video: "Turn Off The Light"
Produced by: Seeb Levermann
Mixed by: Seeb Levermann
Mastered by: Seeb Levermann
Video by: Seeb Levermann

Album: "Wall of Skulls"
Type: Full length
Release date: September 17th, 2021
Label: AFM Records
Format: CD, 12" vinyl, Digital, CD + blu-ray

Track listing:
01. Chamber Thirteen
02. Where Ravens Fly
03. Solitude
04. Escape the Silence
05. Turn Off the Light
06. Glory Disappears
07. My Dystopia
08. End of My Innocence
09. Stigmatized (Shadows Fall)
10. Holding On
11. I, the Deceiver

Δεν υπάρχουν σχόλια

Από το Blogger.