Header Ads

Header ADS

Metal Church - 'Pick A God and Prey' (official lyric video)

Metal Church - 'Congregation of Annihilation'
Νέος τραγουδιστής και νέος δίσκος για τους Metal Church μετά από μία πενταετία. "Congregation of Annihilation" ο τίτλος και αναμένεται στα τελειώματα της άνοιξης. Θα είναι ο πρώτος δίσκος του Αμερικάνικου συγκροτήματος με τον Marc Lopes στα φωνητικά, τον οποίο γνωρίσαμε κυρίως μέσα από το προσωπικό σχήμα του Ross the Boss.

Οι Metal Church μας λένε σχετικά:

«Please welcome vocalist Marc Lopes to the congregation! We auditioned a handful of vocalists and while they were all great, Marc quickly became the clear choice. Both David Wayne and Mike Howe had a very unique, irreplaceable quality to their voices, so we were not looking for a clone of either.

We wanted someone new, who could embrace the past, and also bring something fresh and exciting to the mix. Marc brings a very classic yet modern feel to the songs and we are looking forward to getting this new album out to you later this year! Thank you for your continued support of Metal Church! Love & respect, Kurdt Vanderhoof.»

Οι Metal Church δημιουργήθηκαν το 1980 στο San Francisco από τον Kurdt Vanderhoof. Φημολογείται πως ένα από τα τότε μέλη (το 1981) ήταν και ο drummer των Metallica, Lars Ulrich. Μετά το demo "Red Skies" η μπάντα διαλύεται και ο Kurdt επιστρέφει στην γενέτειρά του σχηματίζοντας τους Shrapnel.

Το 1983 τους μετονόμασε σε Metal Church και... το τραίνο μπήκε στις ράγες. Το συγκρότημα παραμένει ενεργό μέχρι τις ημέρες μας (με αρκετά διαλείμματα). Οι Metal Church έχουν κυκλοφορήσει δώδεκα full length δίσκους, τρία live albums, τέσσερις συλλογές (όλα από το 2019 και μετά), δύο Boxed set, οκτώ singles και πέντε demos.

Δελτίο τύπου: «West coast metal veterans Metal Church will release their 13th studio album, Congregation of Annihilation, on May 26th via Rat Pak Records (America) and Reaper Entertainment (Europe). The new album marks the first release since the tragic death of legendary front man Mike Howe who passed in July of 2021.

It also marks the first album with new vocalist Marc Lopes (Ross the Boss / Let Us Prey) who came on board in the summer of 2022 and features the current lineup of founding guitarist Kurdt Vanderhoof, guitarist Rick Van Zandt, bassist Steve Unger and drummer Stet Howland. The new songs are a return to the band’s musical roots harkening back to the vibes of the self-titled first album and The Dark.

Of the album Kurdt Vanderhoof comments “This new album is starting a new chapter in the Metal Church legacy. I really love this album. It's a fresh approach for us in one way, but also a return to the very beginnings of Metal Church as part of the New American Thrash Metal movement. This record contains some of the most aggressive songs we have recorded. I hope the fans will like it as much as we do.

Marc Lopes comments, “I am beyond honored to be part of carrying on this legacy into a new era of Metal Church. Working with Kurdt and a band that was a huge influence of mine growing up was a surreal experience to say the least. For me there was no point in trying to imitate what was already done to perfection. So, with respect to the past, we moved forward to a new chapter and here we are!

Congregation of Annihilation features nine all new tracks from Metal Church and continues to build upon their iconic sound the band established over three decades ago. From the first guitar riff of album opener “Another Judgement Day” through the driving outro of album closer “Salvation,” it is clear Metal Church is back and better than ever.

“Pick A God and Prey”, “Children of the Lie”, “Congregation of Annihilation and “These Violent Thrills” showcase the sonically charged songwriting that made the early Metal Church albums such fan favorites. Haunting musical opuses “Me the Nothing” and “Making Monsters” each puts the musicianship that Metal Church was known for on full display in 2023.

Infused with intelligent lyrical content, thundering guitar riffs, and Marc’s aggressive soaring vocals, Congregation of Annihilation furthers the bands sonic evolution up to the next level and is guaranteed to enthrall metal music fans around the world.»

Band: Metal Church
Country of origin: United States
Location: San Francisco, California (early), Aberdeen, Washington (later)
Formed in: 1980
Genre: Heavy/Power Metal
Lyrical themes: Society, Inner struggles, Metal, Death, Politics, Religion
Years active: 1980-81, 1981-83 (as Shrapnel), 1983-95, 1998-2009, 2012-present

Lyric video: "Pick A God and Prey"
Video produced by: Wayne Joyner, David Letelier
Album: "Congregation of Annihilation"
Type: May 26th, 2023
Release date:
Label: Rat Pak Records (America)
Label: Reaper Entertainment (Europe)

Track listing:
01. Another Judgement Day 03:37
02. Congregation of Annihilation 04:24
03. Pick a God and Prey 04:39
04. Children of the Lie 05:48
05. Me the Nothing 05:33
06. Making Monsters 05:29
07. Say a Prayer with 7 Bullets 03:35
08. These Violent Thrills 03:46
09. All That We Destroy 04:11
10. My Favorite Sin 04:24
11. Salvation 03:44

Band members:
Kurdt Vanderhoof - Guitars
Marc Lopes - Vocals
Steve Unger - Bass
Rick van Zandt - Guitars
Stet Howland - Drums

Miscellaneous staff:
Kurdt Vanderhoof - Producer

Δεν υπάρχουν σχόλια

Από το Blogger.