Header Ads

Header ADS

Malacoda - "Me Against The World" (Lizzy Borden cover)

It's just me
Against the world

Leave me alone
I'm on the defense
I'm not made of stone
Why doesn't it ever make sense

I'm sick of all this indecision
You're messing with my mind
This ain't no false facade
And this ain't no freak disguise

Cuz I am for real
You don't know what I feel
My strength is in my will
I cannot wait
I won't be second rate
In for the kill

It's me against the world
(Me against the world)
-repeat 4x-

Inside looking outside
Through a goldfish bowl
And it's hand over masters
Make me lose control

If I'm an outcast I'm not the last
I'm gonna have my say
They'll never take me in alive
I'm gonna make them all pay

Cuz I am for real
You don't know what I feel
My strength is in my will
I cannot wait
I won't be second rate
In for the kill

It's me against the world
(Me against the world)
-repeat 8x-

You can't face my life
You just won't think twice
You'll see it my way and I won't be the martyr
I know you see it wrong
The color don't belong
I'm holding tight don't you push me too far

Yeah it's me against the world
It's me against the world
It's me against the world
Don't you push me too far
It's me against the world

Me against the world
(It's me against the world)
-repeat 8x-

Don't push me too far!

Το single των Malacoda "Me Against The World"
Malacoda: δαίμονας που συναντάμε στην "Θεία Κωμωδία" (a.k.a. "Κόλαση) του Δάντη Αλιγκέρι. Το όνομα αποτέλεσε την έμπνευση για μία μπάντα από τον Καναδά. Οι Malacoda δημιουργήθηκαν προ επταετίας και έχουν κυκλοφορήσει δύο "ολοκληρωμένους" δίσκους ("Malacoda" 2015 και "Restless Dreams" (2018).

Το 2021 "χτυπούν" δισκογραφικά με EPs. Έχουν κυκλοφορήσει ήδη δύο ("Crawling Chaos", "The Strain") με το τρίτο να είναι προ των πυλών. Φέρει τον τίτλο "The Year Walk" κι αναμένεται στις αρχές του επόμενου μήνα. Πριν από αυτό όμως οι Malacoda μας παρουσιάζουν μία διασκευή στο τραγούδι των Lizzy Borden "Me Against The World", για το οποίο η Καναδική μπάντα μας λέει:

«Me Against the World is the first cover song we’ve ever released. Ever since we saw the B-horror film Black Roses we knew we’d have to cover it some day. While our version of the song isn’t as hair metal sounding, we still have that 80’s edge by having Shane Provstgaard from Sonic Prophecy providing guest vocals on the track. We’ve been wanting to work with Shane for years, and this was the perfect opportunity to do so!»

Δελτίο τύπου: «The Year Walk is the third EP Malacoda will release in 2021. Four more songs which build upon the band's symphonic sound first explored on 2016's Ritualis Aeterna. Long time collaborator Michael Farina returns to play drums on select tracks, as well as Ryan Claxton (Tulip, Living Dead Girl) and Andrew Suarez (ex-The Slyde).

The haunting album cover was made by the extremely talented Stefan Skjoedt. Featuring Gabriel Guardiola (Immortal Guardian) on the track Beaten Path as well as a stellar mixing and mastering job by Jeramie Kling (The Absence, Inhuman Condition, Venom Inc.), The Year Walk encompasses everything the band sought to achieve with this direction and closes a long, arduous chapter in Malacoda's history.»

Lucas Di Mascio: «The majority of the songs that have been released this year were written around 2017 - before the release of our last full length, Restless Dreams. I didn't really know what to do with these songs because they were so different from Restless Dreams but still were aligned with the sound we had developed on the EP, Ritualis Aeterna.

I shelved them for a bit and then decided to rework them when working with an artist who was endorsed by a big guitar brand. The artist in question wanted to have some metal material to help promote themselves, so we built a new band for the material.

I was actually supposed to be the rhythm guitarist for this project- we had a different singer involved. Unfortunately that project never got off the ground after almost a year of working on it and the songs were shelved yet again.

In mid 2019 I revisited the songs and wrote a few more after Zak had joined. We were excited with the material and felt it should be a Malacoda release. We finished drum tracking right as 2019 was ending. While our initial plans drastically changed because of the pandemic, I decided that we should still release this material but just break it into EP's so we can keep busy in a time without touring.»

Band: Malacoda
Country of origin: Canada
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Formed in: 2014
Genre: Dark Symphonic Metal
Years active: 2014-present

Audio: "Me Against The World"
Mixed/Mastered: Lucas Di Mascio
Arrangement: Lucas Di Mascio
Guest Vocals: Shane Provstgaard (Sonic Prophecy)
Original Song by: Lizzy Borden off of Visual Lies (1987)
Music, Lyrics by: Lizzy Borden

Το ep των Malacoda "The Year Walk"
Album: "The Year Walk"
Type: EP
Release date: December 3d, 2021

Track listing:
1. The Year Walk
2. Beaten Path
3. Legacy
4. Damage Control

Band members:
Lucas Di Mascio - Vocals, Keys
Zachary “Zak” Stulla - Bass

Michael Farina - Drums on track 1, 4
Andrew Suarez - Drums on track 2
Ryan Claxton - Drums on track 3
Gabriel Guardiola - Keyboard Solo on Track 2
Beth Wilson - Backup vocals on track 2
Wes MacDonald - Guitar solos

Miscellaneous staff:
Stefan Skjoedt - Artwork
Jeramie Kling - Mix, Master

Δεν υπάρχουν σχόλια

Από το Blogger.