Header Ads

Header ADS

Hellspike - "They Live" (audio)

Do you wake up before you get out of bed
Or are you just sleepwalking around
Do you realise the world they made for you
Broadcast technicolor with sound
They control the planet, we're their third world
A world that needs a wake up call
Can enough people drop their programmed dreams
So the powers that be may fall

Beware: they live
While we sleep

Obey and consume,
Watch TV and conform
This is your god

Beware: they live
While we sleep

Marry, have children,
Don't question authority

Promotions, bank accounts, new houses, cars
We'll do anything to be rich
But there may come a time when your realise
Life's in heat and she's a bitch
He who has the gold makes the rule
But someday his time will come
I came to kick ass and chew bubble gum
And I'm all out of bubble gum!

Beware: they live
While we sleep

Obey and consume, watch TV and conform
This is your god

Beware: they live
While we sleep

Did they really come from the stars
Or were they always here
You leave the movies with a smile on your face
With nothing to fear - nothing to fear
Then you go back to your daily life
Feeding the endless machine
So that Jeff can ride a dick into space
While you're following on a screen

Beware: they live
While we sleep

Obey and consume,
Watch TV and conform
This is your god

Beware: they live
While we sleep

Marry, have children,
Don't question authority

Maybe they love to see us hate each other
Holding in their grip the life of every man
An age of awareness depends on you
Put these glasses on or start eating that trashcan

Ο δίσκος των Hellspike "Dynasties of Decay"
Δραστήριοι δισκογραφικά οι Hellspike. Το περσινό ντεμπούτο των Πορτογάλων metallers "Lords of War" διαδέχθηκε ο δίσκος "Dynasties of Decay" που κυκλοφόρησε προ ημερών. Οι Hellspike μας έρχονται από την Λισαβόνα. Heavy / speed / thrash metal συγκρότημα, το οποίο δημιουργήθηκε προ διετίας. Το τραγούδι "They Live" που παρουσιάζουμε σήμερα είναι εμπνευσμένο από την ομότιτλη ταινία του John Carpenter (η οποία με την σειρά της βασίσθηκε στο διήγημα του Ray Nelson "Eight O'Clock in the Morning") που "βγήκε" στις κινηματογραφικές αίθουσες το 1988. Στην Ελλάδα είναι γνωστή με τον τίτλο "Ζουν ανάμεσα μας"...

Δελτίο τύπου: «Only a year after their debut, the three Portuguese veteran musicians return with the sophomore effort. Their uncompromised music, free from market impositions, will take you straight to the metal bravery of the past.

Hellspike's melodic approach dives deep into the NWOBHM sound, merging it with the direct and relentless approach of the German speed and thrash bands from mid '80s like IRON ANGEL, SODOM, ANGEL DUST, MINOTAUR, VIOLENT FORCE, NECRONOMICON, WARRANT (Ger.), LIVING DEATH, DESTRUCTION and heavy metal bands like early GRAVE DIGGER and RUNNING WILD, JUDAS PRIEST and M.A.R.S.

The songs are full of melody, expressive guitar harmonies, creative arrangements, inspired solos and choruses that will easily stay in your head. The album exudes a pleasantly nostalgic flair with its rather vintage and organic feel.

In an age in which the world slowly disintegrates before our eyes, Hellspike write the chronicle of the coming end of our days. Delivering old school metal both furious and classic, they watch the struggle of a failing society. The fall of empires has not ended.»

Bio: «The idea of having a band like Hellspike is something that goes back to the times the guitarist Zellpike aka Zé RockHard and vocalist/bassist Rick Metal aka Rick Thor (and Helregni) used to storm their neighbourhood in search of beer at local bars where they could endlessly talk about '80s bands, especially the more obscure ones.

This goes back to 2007 when only Rick had the ability to play an instrument (he has played bass in FILII NIGRANTIUM INFERNALIUM since 1992 and played in IRONSWORD from 2004 to 2008).

The next decade would see a rise in the Portuguese traditional metal scene with bands like the infamous speed metal act INQUISITOR (Zellpike's first band), Midnight Priest, The Unholy, LEATHER SYNN (in which Zellpike played for a year) and later epic metal RAVENSIRE where Zellpike and Rick would play together for the first time.

They both agreed that Running Wild's "Gods of Iron" from "Branded and Exiled" was such a dark and powerful composition that made them even more aware of the necessity to worship the Teutonic Gods of Iron like Iron Angel, Violent Force, Grave Digger, Necronomicon or Kreator. During those times, Rick was also playing and singing in the savage thrash metal outfit PERPETRATÖR.

However, it wasn't until 2016 that both Zellpike and Rick agreed to form an '80s-forged speed metal band that could reach for the same level of the old German classics, but still incorporate some arrangements and new elements that could fit and brew well in the band as a reflection of what has happened in underground metal throughout these last 35 years, since the great classics were unleashed.

During 2019, the band arranged the compositions for the debut album and in 2020, the year of the plague, went into the studio with old friend and producer extraordinaire Paulão Vieira and session drummer Skullthrasher to lay them down. After the search for a true heavy metal label, the album landed in the hands of Metal on Metal Records who released "Lords of War" on October 31st 2020.

After watching in dismay the events of 2020 and the first signs of a failing society that keeps suffocating in its own problems, Hellspike decided to carry on doing what they like the most: composing and recording.

This challenging time certainly provided a lot of inspiration and also the focus they needed to bring you 8 brand new songs from the age of the plague to an age of awareness. In times of scarcity, namely concerts, Hellspike's second album "Dynasties of Decay" was released on November 19th, 2021. Prepare to go back to 1988 where they live... Their quest has just began!»

Band: Hellspike
Country of origin: Portugal
Location: Lisbon
Formed in: 2019
Genre: Speed/Heavy Metal
Years active: 2019-present

Audio: "They Live"
Album: "Dynasties of Decay"
Type: Full length
Release date: November 19th, 2021
Label: Metal on Metal Records
Format: CD, Digital

Track listing:
1. Dynasties of Decay 05:13
2. They Live 07:03
3. Gone to Waste 04:22
4. Hegemony Defied 05:44
5. Divide to Rule 07:15
6. On Through the Times 04:42
7. Ruthless Invasion 05:20
8. Lost Reality 05:36

Band members:
Zellpike - Guitars
Rick Metal -Vocals, Bass
Skullthrasher - Drums

Mário Figueira - Guitar solo on track 4

Miscellaneous staff:
Simone A. Peruzzi - Layout
João Moura - Photography
Paulo Vieira - Recording, Mixing, Mastering
Noël Puente - Cover art

Δεν υπάρχουν σχόλια

Από το Blogger.