English French German Spain Italian Dutch Russian Portuguese Japanese Korean Arabic Chinese Simplified

Wizard - "I Bring Light Into The Dark" (lyric video)

Δισκογραφική επιστροφή για τους Wizard μετά από τέσσερα χρόνια. Ο διάδοχος του album "Fallen Kings" (Ιούνιος 2017) και δωδέκατος συνολικά "ολοκληρωμένος" δίσκος των Γερμανών metallers τιτλοφορείται "Metal in My Head" κι αναμένεται σε λίγες ημέρες. Οι Wizard υπάρχουν στο heavy metal σύμπαν από το μακρινό 1989 με δισκογραφικό απολογισμό ένδεκα full length albums, ένα demo (το 1991) και μία συλλογή (2012)...

Bio: «It all began when Michael Maaß (Guitar) and Sören van Heek (drums) started playing metal while drinking some beers. V.Leson (Bass) and Sven D’Anna (vocals) soon joined the band and this line-up lasts until today! They aren’t musicians only - they are, most importantly friends.

After the releases of the legendary "Legion Of Doom" demo (1991) as well as the self-financed "Son Of Darkness" (1995) and "Battle of Metal" (1997), the band received lots of reviews, gig requests and fan mail, which led to a contract with B.O. Records in 1999, where Wizard released their first official album "Bound By Metal".

After parting ways with B.O. Records, they signed with Music Limb Productions and released "Head Of The Deceiver" in 2001, which was the most successful album of the band so far. It received rave reviews and tours with bands like Paul Di'Anno, Edguy, Paragon, Goddess Of Desire, Sacred Steel and Death SS followed, as well as highly acclaimed shows at Germany’s Bang Your Head!!! and Wacken Open Air.

Their first concept album about Odin, the Allfather of the Norse gods, was recorded in the fall of 2002 at Hamburg’s Powerhouse Studios with producer Piet Sielck (Iron Savior, Heavenly, Blind Guardian, Gun Barrel, Paragon). "Odin" became a mighty and highly acclaimed power metal epos, with smashers like the opener "The Prophecy" or epic hymns like "Thor's Hammer".

In May 2004, Michael Maaß took a break from the band, was replaced by Dano Boland and the band recorded and released "Magic Circle", which was a true success. In 2006, Wizard parted ways with LMP and signed with Massacre Records.

They began recording their next album "Goochan" with producer Dennis Ward, loved both by the press and the fans. After a small headlining tour through Germany and many shows abroad (e.g., in Greece), Michael Maaß returned to the band and it was decided that Wizard will continue with two guitarists.

Their next album "Thor" (2008) was produced by Andy Horn and mixed and mastered by Achim Köhler. Songs like "Midgards Guardian", "Resurrection" or the ballad "Serpents Venom" lead the listener to new worlds and took care that there is no lack of head banging! After moving the rehearsals to a studio, Wizard began working on a new album.

The lyrics for the band's album "... Of Wariwulfs and Bluotvarwes" were co-written with the German author André Wiesler, whose books - a trilogy about Hagen von Stein - left Volker impressed. Achim Köhler was responsible for the mix and mastering. Steve Argyle created the cover artwork.

The album was presented during numerous shows in Ireland, the Netherlands, Slovenia, Germany and the Czech Republic. Tours in the United Kingdom, France or the United States followed. In January/February 2013, Wizard joined the "German Metal Attack" tour with Grave Digger, Majesty and Gun Barrel.

The album "Trail Of Death" was released in September 2013. It deals, as the title already suggests, with death in all its ways and the question what comes afterwards. The album features serious lyrics ("Creeping Death", "Post Mortem Vivere") as well as lyrics with a sense of humour ("Machinery Of Death").

Recorded at Wizard's own studio and once again produced by Achim Köhler, "Trail Of Death" turned out to be very varied: it features thrashy tunes ("War Butcher"), epic tracks ("Angel Of The Dark"), metal tunes ("Angel Of Death") as well as Wizard's trademarks songs like the speedy double-bass smasher "Black Death"!

Jens Reinhold, who already worked with bands like Virgin Steele or Freedom Call, created the album artwork, which pictures the reaper walking down a path that is paved with dead bodies. He's holding a lantern in his hand, in which you can see a soul burning for all eternity. This can be interpreted as a symbol for hell.

During the first leg of the "German Metal Attack" tour and around the album release, Volker Leson decided for health reasons to leave the band. It was a shock for all band members but there was no turning back. Arndt Ratering, a long-time friend of the band, joined the band to help out.

After the second leg of the "German Metal Attack" tour with bassist Arndt Ratering, Wizard decided that Arndt will be a permanent member of the Wizard family. 2014 was a special year for Wizard, because the band celebrated its 25th anniversary. They decided to organize a 25th anniversary festival in their hometown, together with Majesty and Black Abbyss.

It was a blast! Wizard recorded the show and released their first live DVD in 25 years. They also joined a tour with Vortex and played a lot of shows in Germany, Austria, France and the Czech Republic. In 2015 the band was in writing mode for the next disc of steel, but they still found time to play festival shows and appeared at the Dong Open Air, Metal Frenzy or Bäääm Festival in Germany.

Wizard's new album is entitled "Fallen Kings" and was recorded in the band's own studio in fall 2016. Achim Köhler (Primal Fear, Brainstorm, Amon Amarth, Sinner) is responsible for the album's mix and made sure that Wizard's 11th studio album sounds as powerful as it should be.

Wizard recruited the Argentinian artist Aldo Requena (Black Majesty, Skiltron, Feanor, Paragon) to create the cover artwork. Jochen van Eden (Sinneswerk) is responsible for the band photos and the layout.

"Fallen Kings" is guided by fantasy and reality, it's by no means a concept album - it offers pounding hymns ("We Are the Masses"), heavy metal songs ("Brothers Of Spirit", "Wizard Until The End") as well as Wizard's typical double-bass smashers ("Liar And Betrayer", "You're The King"), among others. The breath of air, that bassist Arndt Ratering brought in, is clearly noticeable.

In january 2020 Dano Boland decided to quit the band. Since may 2020 Tommy Hartung joined the Wizard family. He is known from his old band "No inner limits" who made prog metal, where als Arndt Ratering played together with him. On 19th february 2021 the new album Metal in My Head will be released!» 

Band: Wizard
Country of origin: Germany
Location: Bocholt, North Rhine-Westphalia
Formed in: 1989
Genre: Epic Power Metal
Lyrical themes: War, Metal
Years active: 1989-present

Ο δίσκος των Wizard "Metal in My Head"
Lyric video: "I Bring Light Into The Dark"
Video by: Ingo Spörl
Album: "Metal in My Head"
Type: Full length
Release date: February 19th, 2021
Label: Massacre Records
Format: CD, Vinyl

Track listing:
01. I Bring Light into the Dark
02. Metal Feast
03. Metal in My Head
04. Victory
05. 30 Years of Metal
06. We Fight
07. Whirlewolf (Feanor cover)
08. Years of War
09. Firesword
10. Destiny

Band members:
Snoppi Denn - Drums
Michael Maass - Guitars
Sven D'Anna - Vocals (lead)
Arndt Ratering - Bass
Tommy Hartung - Guitars

Gustavo Acosta - Piano (track 7)

Miscellaneous staff:
Martin Buchwalter - Producer, Mixing, Mastering
Jens Reinhold - Cover art

2 σχόλια:

  1. Είναι το δεύτερο που ποστάρεις και δεν έχω ακούσει ακόμη ούτε το προηγούμενο. Σπεύδω.