English French German Spain Italian Dutch Russian Portuguese Japanese Korean Arabic Chinese Simplified

Ultimatium - "Run Like The Wind" (video)

Οι Ultimatium μας έρχονται από την Φινλανδία. Πρόκειται για μπάντα μελωδικού power metal, η οποία δημιουργήθηκε στις αρχές της χιλιετίας κι έχει κυκλοφορήσει τέσσερις "ολοκληρωμένους" δίσκους. Το συγκρότημα μας παρουσιάζεται κάπως έτσι:

«Ultimatium was carved in deep dark forests of Suomussalmi, from where it traveled through cities and has now landed to Tampere, Finland. During these travels Ultimatium has grown from melodic powermetal towards progressive paths»

...κι αναφέρει ως επιρροές μπάντες όπως οι Dream Theather, Ayreon, Symphony X, Helloween, Rainbow, Kamelot, Stratovarius κλπ. Το τέταρτο και πλέον πρόσφατο full length album των Φινλανδών φέρει τον τίτλο "Virtuality" και "βγήκε" προχθές...

Δελτίο τύπου: «Ultimatium was birthed out the deep forests of Suomussalmi, Finland. Their 4th studio full length "Virtuality" follows their independently released "Vis Vires Infinitus" (2015), "New Dawn" (2004, Mastervox Records), and "Hwainoo" (2008, Mastervox Records).

“Virtuality” is the first theme album from Finnish powermetallers who took a big and long overdue step towards prog-power on this album. Album features five lead singers from Finnish metal scene: Johanna Lesonen a.k.a Emily Leone (Lost in Grey, Dotma), Peter James Goodman (Conquest, ex-Virtuocity), Jukka Nummi (ex-Myon, Angry Machines plays Dio + dozen of Rainbow / Deep Purple-cover bands), Matti Auerkallio (Katra, Manzana, SoulFallen + many more), Tomi Viiltola (ex-Dreamtale, Perpetual Rage, Viilto).

The premise behind "Virtuality" is an introduction of a storyline of four gamers getting stuck in a virtual reality game in a near-future setting. Each vocalist guest has their own, distinctive role in the story and drummer Matti Auerkallio sings the role of the villain (clean & crunch).

The story album is backed up with lots of background vocals, sound effects and a "narrator"/system voice synthesized with Amazon's Alexa. The album introduces the best parts of power and progressive metal combined, including easier up-tempo songs, but also long, progressive mid-tempo tracks.

The songs take influence from such bands as Stratovarius, Dream Theater, Symphony X and Rainbow. Especially on tracks "Digital Tower" and "Ghost of Yesterday" where influences from Ronnie James Dio and Ritchie Blackmore are easily heard.»

Ultimatium: «Virtuality' keeps Ultimatium moving towards more progressive atmospheres without completely forgetting the roots of the band. Packed with five amazing lead vocalists, a unique storyline about the virtual world, and the dangers of sharing everything in social media, along with up-tempo power metal songs combined with darker elements. The full length is a dramatic experience that should be listened from the first track to the last and will be a must-listen for all theme album enthusiasts.»

Matti Pulkkinen (about the song): «Up-tempo and a happy song shows the heroes of this album immortal and invincible, taking the story forward as they triumph in the game, unaware about the perils ahead. Song is mainly sung by Emily Leone with Viiltola helping in the verses. Song introduces some very high pitches and guitar/keyboard solo battling! And the song is backed full of C64 Sid lead sound! Game on!» 

Ο δίσκος των Ultimatium "Virtuality"
Band: Ultimatium
Country of origin: Finland
Location: Tampere, Pirkanmaa
Formed in: 2001
Genre: Melodic Power Metal
Lyrical themes: Fantasy, Freedom, Hope
Years active: 2001-present

Video: "Run Like The Wind"
Album: "Virtuality"
Type: Full length
Release date: November 27th, 2020
Label: Rockshots Records
Format: CD

Track listing:
01. Vengeance
02. Run like the Wind
03. Hall of Heroes (inst)
04. Mindcaptives
05. The Seer
06. Dark Cold Day
07. Remorse
08. (Don't) Fear the Silence
09. Digital Tower
10. Ghost of Yesterday
11. Scream

Band members:
Matti Pulkkinen - Keyboards
Harri Niskanen - Guitars
Tomi Viiltola - Vocals
Matti Auerkallio - Drums, Vocals (additional)

Petteri Gullsten - Bass
Emily Leone - Vocals
Peter James Goodman - Vocals
Jumma Nummi - Vocals

Miscellaneous staff: Matti Pulkkinen - Producer

Δεν υπάρχουν σχόλια:

Δημοσίευση σχολίου